Festive Loan Offers 2026: When a Fee Waiver Beats a Lower Rate — and the Fine Print That Decides What You Really Pay
Festive Loan Offers 2026: When a Fee Waiver Beats a Lower Rate — and the Fine Print That Decides What You Really Pay
Banks are offering processing fee waivers, rate concessions and even EMI waivers this festive season, weeks after RBI raised the repo rate to 5.50%. The cheapest-looking offer is not always the cheapest loan.
The banners are everywhere this month: zero processing fee, rates “starting from” 7.40%, even 12 EMIs waived on a home loan. If you were already planning to buy a house, a car or a big-ticket appliance, the festive season can genuinely lower your borrowing cost. But the offers arrive at an awkward moment. On October 7, the RBI raised its repo rate by 25 basis points, ending a period of falling loan rates.
So the useful question is not which bank has the flashiest banner, but which offer costs you least over the life of the loan. That depends on the rate you actually get, the fees you actually pay, and how long you keep the loan. Here is how to tell the difference, with real offers and worked numbers.
What Banks Are Offering This Season
Most offers fall into three groups: fee waivers, rate concessions and extras such as EMI waivers or zero foreclosure charges. The table brings together offers reported in October 2026. Starting rates are the lowest a bank advertises, usually reserved for borrowers with high credit scores.
| Bank | Product | Starting rate | Fee offer | Valid until |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bank of Baroda | Home loan | 7.40% | Full waiver | Oct 31 |
| PNB | Home and car loans | 5 to 15 bps concession | Full waiver | Dec 31 |
| Indian Bank | Car loan | 7.75% | Full waiver | Not stated |
| Kotak Mahindra | Car and other loans | 8.00% car | 50% waiver | Not stated |
| HDFC Bank | Car loan | 8.25% | Standard fee | Not stated |
| HDFC Bank | Personal loan | 9.99% | Not stated | Not stated |
| SBI | Car loan | 8.45% to 8.70% | Concession or waiver | Not stated |
| Yes Bank | Loans | Not stated | 50% waiver | Diwali |
| Axis Bank | Home loan | Not stated | 12-EMI waiver; ₹999 login fee | Not stated |
The Repo Rate Hike Nobody Mentions in the Banners
Festive offers this year come with a twist. On October 7, the RBI’s Monetary Policy Committee raised the repo rate to 5.50% and said rate cuts were off the table in the near term, citing inflation projected at 5.2% for the year. Most home loans are linked to the repo rate, so new and existing floating-rate borrowers will see higher rates as banks pass the increase through.
Mint reported that banks absorbed some of the hike, so effective rates for new customers rose by about 20 basis points. That is why many festive concessions are worth only 5 to 15 basis points: they partly offset the hike rather than make loans cheaper than before.
Why your rate can change after the festive season
Most home loans are floating-rate and linked to the repo rate. The rate you pay is the repo rate plus a spread set by the bank, adjusted for your profile. A festive concession usually trims the spread for new borrowers, but the repo-linked part moves with every RBI decision. Mint also notes that banks can revise the spread at their discretion, for example if your credit profile weakens. So a festive rate locks in a lower spread, not a permanently lower rate. With the RBI now in “calibrated tightening” mode, budget for EMIs to rise if further hikes follow.
Fee Waiver or Lower Rate: The Break-Even Test
This is the decision that matters most, and most borrowers get it wrong. A fee waiver is a one-time saving. A lower rate saves money every month for as long as the loan runs. Which is worth more depends on how long you keep the loan.
Take a ₹50 lakh home loan over 20 years. Lender A waives a 0.5% processing fee, saving ₹25,000 plus ₹4,500 GST, or ₹29,500. Lender B charges the fee but prices the loan 10 basis points lower, at 7.40% instead of 7.50%. The EMI at 7.40% is ₹39,974, against ₹40,280 at 7.50%, a difference of ₹306 a month.
The lower rate overtakes the fee waiver at about 96 months, or eight years. If you expect to repay early, sell the house or switch lenders within eight years, the fee waiver is worth more. If you plan to keep the loan for 15 or 20 years, the lower rate wins clearly. Both offers together, of course, beat either one.
Headline Rate Versus What You Really Pay
For car and personal loans, which are usually fixed-rate and shorter, fees make a bigger difference to the true cost. The Key Fact Statement, which banks must give for retail loans, shows an annual percentage rate, or APR, that includes the processing fee and other charges.
The last two bars show the trap. A personal loan advertised at 9.99% with a 2% fee costs more, at 11.03% APR, than one at 10.5% with no fee. On a ₹5 lakh loan, the 2% fee plus GST is ₹11,800, deducted from the money you receive, while the EMI of ₹10,621 is still calculated on the full ₹5 lakh.
Car loans: small rate gaps add up
On a ₹5 lakh, five-year car loan, the EMI is ₹10,078 at 7.75% and ₹10,307 at 8.70%. The ₹229 monthly gap adds up to about ₹13,700 over the loan. Mint notes that EMIs on the same car loan can differ by about ₹1,600 a month between lenders, once profile-based pricing is included. Ask the dealer for the cash price too, and compare it with the financed price.
Decoding Festive Offer Language
Offer banners compress a lot into a few words. This is what common phrases usually mean, and what to ask.
| The banner says | What it usually means | Ask the lender |
|---|---|---|
| Rates starting from | The lowest rate, for the best credit profiles, often scores of 800 or more | What rate will I get, in writing? |
| Zero processing fee | Processing fee waived; other charges may still apply | Are documentation, login or valuation fees charged? |
| Zero foreclosure charges | No charge for closing early, sometimes only after a lock-in | From which month? HDFC’s applies after 24 months |
| 12 EMIs waived | Some instalments covered under conditions | Which EMIs, what minimum loan and tenure? |
| No-cost EMI | Interest offset by a discount, often on a higher price | What is the cash price without EMI? |
| Extra concession | Small cut for women, salary account holders or under-40s | Is it linked to insurance or other add-ons? |
Should You Borrow for Festive Spending at All?
Festive offers are designed to bring forward purchases. For a home you had already planned to buy, or a car you need, a lower rate or a waived fee is a real saving. For discretionary spending, such as gadgets, gifts or travel, a loan turns a one-time expense into months of EMIs, and the offer rarely changes that arithmetic.
The difference shows up in the rates. A home loan at 7.40% is secured and long-term. A personal loan at 9.99% or more, plus fees, is unsecured and usually short. Spreading a ₹1 lakh festive purchase over 12 months at an APR of 11% to 12% adds several thousand rupees, enough to erase most festive discounts on the product itself. Paying from savings, or delaying the purchase by a few months, is usually cheaper.
Cheaper options if you must borrow
- A loan against fixed deposits or securities is usually priced below an unsecured personal loan, and you keep your investments.
- A top-up on an existing home loan can cost less than a personal loan for large planned expenses, though it adds to a long-term debt.
- A gold loan is quick and secured, but missing payments can lead to the gold being auctioned, so borrow only what you can repay.
- Card EMIs and no-cost EMI can work for a single purchase if the final price and fees are clear, but avoid rolling over card balances, which attract much higher interest.
Offer Deadlines to Keep in Mind
Rupyy’s Singla, quoted by Mint, notes that many offers run until the end of December, which leaves time to compare. A festive deadline is a reason to start comparing, not a reason to sign the first offer.
Your Seven-Step Offer Check
- Check your credit score first. Concessional rates at SBI and IDBI Bank are reportedly reserved for scores of 800 or above.
- Get written quotes from at least two or three lenders for the same amount and tenure.
- Compare the APR in each Key Fact Statement, not the headline rate.
- For home loans, work out the fee-versus-rate break-even month and compare it with how long you expect to keep the loan.
- Confirm whether the rate is fixed or floating, and how the spread can change later.
- Read foreclosure, part-prepayment and lock-in terms, and refuse add-ons you do not need.
- Borrow only what you can repay comfortably; Optima Money’s Mathpal warns against borrowing just because concessions exist.
Existing Borrowers Can Use the Season Too
Festive offers are not only for new loans. With rates turning higher after the October hike, existing floating-rate borrowers may see their EMIs rise. If your current home loan spread is high, a balance transfer during a fee-waiver window can lower your cost. PNB, for example, offers an extra 10 basis points to existing home loan and top-up customers, Business Standard reported.
Before switching, compare your current rate with the new lender’s offer, add any transfer costs, and run the same break-even test. Many banks will also reprice your loan if you ask, for a small fee, which can be quicker than moving lenders.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which banks are waiving processing fees in the festive season 2026?
Reported offers include full waivers at PNB (until December 31), Indian Bank on car loans and Bank of Baroda on home loans (until October 31), and 50% waivers at Kotak Mahindra Bank and Yes Bank. Terms vary by product and eligibility.
Is a processing fee waiver better than a lower interest rate?
It depends on how long you keep the loan. On a ₹50 lakh, 20-year home loan, a 10 basis point lower rate saves ₹306 a month and overtakes a ₹29,500 fee waiver after about eight years. For shorter holding periods, the waiver is worth more.
Did the RBI repo rate hike make loans more expensive?
Yes. The RBI raised the repo rate to 5.50% on October 7, 2026. Mint reported effective rates for new borrowers rose by about 20 basis points, and repo-linked home loan EMIs may rise as banks pass on the increase.
What is the APR on a loan?
The annual percentage rate includes the interest rate and fees such as processing charges. It is shown in the Key Fact Statement and is the fairest way to compare loans. A 9.99% loan with a 2% fee has an APR of about 11.03% over five years.
Will I get the advertised festive loan rate?
Not necessarily. Advertised rates usually go to borrowers with the strongest credit profiles, often scores of 800 or more. Mint reports most borrowers pay 0.5 to 1 percentage point above the advertised rate.
Is Axis Bank’s 12 EMI waiver worth it?
It may be, but the conditions matter. Axis Bank has not disclosed which EMIs are waived or the minimum loan and tenure, Business Today reported. Compare the rate and total interest with a regular loan before deciding.
Are no-cost EMI offers really free?
Not always. The interest may be offset by a discount on a higher upfront price, and processing fees plus GST can apply. Compare the final amount you pay with the cash price.
How long do festive loan offers last?
It varies. Bank of Baroda’s fee waiver runs to October 31 and PNB’s offers to December 31, while several banks have not published end dates. Many offers run until the end of December, according to Mint.
The Short Version
This festive season’s loan offers include full or partial processing fee waivers, small rate concessions and EMI waivers, arriving just after the RBI raised the repo rate to 5.50%. Advertised rates go to the strongest profiles, so get written quotes and compare the APR in each Key Fact Statement. On long home loans, a slightly lower rate usually beats a fee waiver, which overtakes after about eight years in our ₹50 lakh example. On short car and personal loans, fees matter more: a 9.99% loan with a 2% fee costs about 11.03%. Compare before the deadlines, but borrow only what you need.